Volunteer Work

So as promised last week this post is all about my current volunteer job with the RDA.

At RDA, our horses and ponies provide therapy, achievement and enjoyment to people with disabilities all over the UK.

Our network of 500 volunteer groups organise activities such as riding, carriage driving, vaulting, show jumping and Hippotherapy to up to 28,000 people each year.

We have been carrying out our life-changing activities for over 40 years, and take great pride in the exceptional standard of our instructors and volunteers (18,000 in all).

We offer activities for all age groups and, wherever possible, to people with any disability – and you’re just as likely to find an RDA Group in an urban setting as a rural one.

We rely on voluntary help, donations and legacies to deliver our services.

Taken from the RDA website > RDA

I started volunteer work with a local RDA group last summer and have no intention of stopping anytime soon.

My group teaches and provides therapy for a class of disabled kids every Monday morning.

I do have to get up at seven every Monday morning but it’s worth it. I get there at about half nine and if needed, groom and tack one of the four ponies.

Then I walk one of the ponies around to warm them up and then line up with the others at half ten when the bus arrives. I then proceed to walk alongside my chosen pony holding on to a child’s leg and ankle and helping them learn how to control a pony.

It sounds incredibly dull when you say it like that but it is actually a really rewarding and satisfactory thing to see the children learning and enjoying themselves. Sometimes it can be hard or annoying because some of the kids are more challenging than others. But it’s always worth it.

As I said in my last post it also helps me a little.

I am so glad that my mum found the RDA last year and that they took me on.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Seeya!

Minki ♥

 

2 thoughts on “Volunteer Work

Leave a Reply

